Be Inspired by Space

by Vix Southgate

I spent my childhood with an avid fascination of the solar system, mainly due to the fact that I had a Brother who chose his career in Astrophysics aged 5!

I also have a love of history, a passion for creativity and a want to inspire children. So a few years ago I was inspired to bring all my passions together, I decided to write and illustrate children’s books.

Yuri Gagarin – The First Spaceman was first published for the 50th Anniversary of Gagarin’s spaceflight on 12th April 2011.  But it was the Gagarin-related events and my own personal interests that mean I want to inspire the next generation of star-gazers, astronomers, rocket scientists and astronauts. I want to get children excited by space and science in general, and to help them get a better understanding and appreciation of the world and universe around them.

Over the past year I have met many cosmonauts and astronauts, all of whom seem to have an air of wonder about them – An inner understanding of what is important in life. I guess your view of life changes when you have pushed your body to its limits and then been propelled into space in a rocket and seen our World for what it really is.

What better way to understand the world we live in, than to see it for yourself from space!

But to go into space you have to train like an astronaut! ‘Venture Thinking’ have developed an international challenge called Mission X, which is an international fitness challenge for kids. For more information go to: http://trainlikeanastronaut.org/

I can only wonder at what an awesome experience it is to go into space. I doubt I will ever know exactly what it feels like but through researching Gagarin and talking with the people who have been, it sounds inspirational.

Understanding the possibilities of what space travels holds, understanding the physical stresses weightlessness puts on our bodies helps us to understand the forces that are at work in the universe and that science is all around us.

Let’s start exploring the possibilities!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Be Inspired by Space

Leave a Reply

